Inquiry in the Curriculum

Australian Curriculum inquiry skills

The Australian Curriculum explicitly includes the development of inquiry skills within:

  • F-12 Science
  • F-6 HSS (History, Geography, Civics & Citizenship, Economics & Business)
  • 7-10 History, Geography, Civics & Citizenship, Economics & Business
  • 11-12 Ancient History, Modern History and Geography

Here are Word docs with the inquiry and skills content descriptors and elaborations for primary Science and HSS:

Australian Curriculum continua/scope & sequence

  • How are the scope and sequence for the Aust Curriculum (or other curricula) being used in the inquiry?
  • How are the Aust Curriculum general capabilities being used in the inquiry?

If you’re in a non-Australian context, please use the standards and continua that are relevant to your context.


Mal Lee (2014) The educational fallacy of an ICT Continuum


Australian F-10:

If you are in a school context, you will need to draw on the relevant curriculum (Australian Curriculum, state curriculum, International Baccalaureate) in your unit plan.